SuperOffice-logo

How do I reassign the data that has been created by one SuperOffice user to another in SuperOffice CRM?

(Open in new window)

Question

One of my colleagues leaves our company. I would like to assign all open activities, documents, companies that he coordinated to another user in SuperOffice CRM.  How do I do that?

Answer

It is simple to reassign ownership of the records in SuperOffice CRM by using the Bulk Update feature. To do it we recommend following the instructions below:

Step 1. Find the user's companies and reassign them to another user

Step 2. Find the user's outstanding follow-ups and reassign them to another user

Step 3. Find the user's open sales and reassign them to another user

Step 4. Find the user's active projects and reassign them to another user

Note! Bulk Update cannot be undone. That's why we recommend creating a database backup before making any large data updates if SuperOffice CRM is installed Onsite, please refer to this FAQ that explains how to do it. If you use SuperOffice CRM Online, you do not have to do anything extra, as backups are created automatically.
 



Find the user's companies and reassign them to another user

  1. Click on the Find (1) button in the top of the bar to open a Find screen. Under the Find Company section click on the Typical Searches (2) to reveal the drop-down menu. Then choose the predefined search My companies in selected category (3) to start your search.


     
  2. In the Criteria tab, next to Our contact (1) select Is one of, and from the drop-down list select the user (2) whose companies you want to assign to another user. Click on Find (3) to get a list of these companies.


     
  3. At the bottom click on the Task (1) button and then select the Bulk update (2) option in the Manage section. 



    Note! If you want to keep a record of the companies that belonged to the removed user you can create a static selection. Simply click on the Save as selection (1) button at the bottom of the list, then click on the option Static selection and click Save.


     
  4. Set the option Select one in the Our contact (1) row, and choose the SuperOffice user to whom you want to reassign the companies. Click Update (2) to initiate the change.


     
  5. Click Yes to make the update.



 




Find the user's outstanding follow-ups and reassign them to another user

  1. Click on the Find (1) button in the top of the bar to open a Find screen. Under the Find Follow-up section click on the Typical Searches (2) to reveal the drop-down menu. Then choose the predefined search My open activities this week and next (3) to start your search.


     
  2. In the Criteria tab, next to Owner (1) select Is one of, and from the drop-down list select the user (2) whose follow-ups you want to assign to another user. Next to the Date criterion, select This, previous and next, and from the drop-down list select the year. These criteria will generate all uncompleted follow-ups of the user for this, previous and next year. You can choose another time frame. When you are happy with the setup, click on Find (3) to get a list of the uncompleted follow-ups.


     
  3. At the bottom click on the Task (1) button and then choose the Bulk update (2) option in the Manage section.



    Note! If you want to keep a record of the follow-ups that belonged to the removed user, you can create a static selection. Simply click on the Save as selection (1) button at the bottom of the list, then click on the option Static selection and click Save.
     
  4. In the User ID (1) row, set the option Select one and choose the SuperOffice user to whom you want to reassign the follow-ups in the list. Click Update (2) to initiate the change.


     
  5. Click Yes to make the update.





Find the user's open sales and reassign them to another user

  1. Click on the Find (1) button in the top of the bar to open a Find screen. Under the Find Sale section click on the Typical Searches (2) to reveal the drop-down menu. Then choose the predefined search My open sales (3) to start your search.


     
  2. In the Criteria tab, next to Owner select Is one of and from the drop-down list select the user (1) whose sales you want to assign to another user. Click on Find (2) to get a list of open sales.


     
  3. At the bottom click on the Task (1) button and then choose the Bulk update (2) option in the Manage section.



    Note! If you want to keep a record of the sales that belonged to the removed user, you can create a static selection. Simply click on the Save as selection (1) button at the bottom of the list, then click on the option Static selection and click Save.
     
  4. In the Owner (1) row set the option Select one and choose the SuperOffice user to whom you want to reassign the sales. Click on Update (2) to initiate the change.


     
  5. Click Yes to make the update.





Find the user's active projects and reassign them to another user

  1. Click on the Find (1) button in the top of the bar to open a Find screen. Under the Find Project section click on the Typical Searches (2) to reveal the drop-down menu. Then choose the predefined search My active projects (3) to start your search.


     
  2. In the Criteria tab, next to Responsible select Is one of and from the drop-down list select the user (1) whose projects you want to assign to another user. Click on Find (2) to get a list of active projects.


     
  3. At the bottom click on the Task (1) button and then choose the Bulk update (2) option in the Manage section.



    Note! If you want to keep a record of the projects that belonged to the removed user, you can create a static selection. Simply click on the Save as selection button at the bottom of the list, then click on the option Static selection and click Save.
     
  4. In the Responsible (1) row, set the option Select one and choose the SuperOffice user to whom you want to reassign the projects. Click on Update (2) to initiate the change.


     
  5. Click Yes to make the update.


     
Please follow this FAQ if you use SuperOffice Onsite 8.5 R10 or any earlier version of SuperOffice CRM.

More information

FAQ: What to do when I get an error "The user could not be changed for the following reasons Open or postponed requests:" while trying to remove access to SuperOffice CRM?

FAQ: How do I set a user as a former employee in SuperOffice CRM?

Details

Language: EN
Version: 9.1 CRM Online R01 (2020.06.15-03)→
Product: Sales & Marketing (CRM client)
Product area: Create or edit users

Score

Poor  Good

Tags

  1. Application
  2. Configuration
  3. Technical